Home / Local Sports / CWTS: Sauter wins in Texas for 4th victory of season

CWTS: Sauter wins in Texas for 4th victory of season

(MRN) Johnny Sauter took command on the final restart and drove away to his fourth victory of the season on Friday night at Texas Motor Speedway. It’s Sauter’s third win in his last four starts in “The Lone Star State.” He beat pole winner Stewart Friesen to the checkered flag by ninety-two one-thousandths of a second, the closest margin of victory in a Truck Series race at T-M-S since the track first hosted the tour in 1997. Justin Haley grabbed third place with Grant Enfinger and Matt Crafton completing the top five. The win gives Sauter four victories in the first eight races of the season. He’s just the third driver with four or more wins through the first eight races of a season in the twenty-four-year history of the series – joining Kyle Busch and Mike Skinner.

Top 10 Finishers in the PPG 400


1. Johnny Sauter (5) 51

2. Stewart Friesen (Pole) 13

3. Justin Haley (10) 3

4. Grant Enfinger (8) 7

5. Matt Crafton (9) —

6. Todd Gilliland (R) (2) 62

7. Tyler Young (20) —

8. Cody Coughlin (14) —

9. Spencer Davis (4) 7

10. Noah Gragson (3) 19

Unofficial Point Standings – After 8 Races


1. Johnny Sauter 378 —-

2. Noah Gragson 301 -77

3. Brett Moffitt 283 -95

4. Grant Enfinger 282 -96

5. Matt Crafton 279 -99

6. Ben Rhodes 271 -107

7. Stewart Friesen 263 -115

8. Justin Haley 253 -125

9. Dalton Sargeant (R) 219 -159

10. Myatt Snider (R) 214 -164

About Jim Harris

Jim Harris has been WYSH's News & Sports Director since 2000. In addition to reporting local news, he is the play-by-play voice for Clinton High School football, boys' and girls' basketball and baseball. Catch Jim live weekdays beginning at 6:20 am for live local news, sports, weather and traffic plus the Community Bulletin Board, shenanigans with Ron Meredith and more on the Country Club Morning Show on WYSH & WQLA. Jim lives in Clinton with his wife Kelly and daughter Carolina, his mother-in-law and cats Lucius and Oliver.

Check Also

NASCAR HoF Class of 2020 announced

(NASCAR press release/MRN) NASCAR announced today the inductees who will comprise the NASCAR Hall of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *