Home / Featured / MENCS All Star Race: Harvick can’t stop the winning

MENCS All Star Race: Harvick can’t stop the winning

(MRN) Kevin Harvick took control of the race early in the final stage and kept his Number-4 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford in front over the final ten laps to claim victory on Saturday night at Charlotte Motor Speedway. It’s Harvick’s second win in the annual non-points race and it came exactly eleven years after the first one … on May 19th, 2007.

He wins a cool one million dollars and becomes the seventh driver with multiple victories in the thirty-four-year history of the race. Harvick started fourth in the twenty-one-car field, dominated the opening stage and then reasserted that dominance after drivers lined up for the final ten-lap dash to the checkered flag. His margin of victory over runner-up Daniel Suarez was thirty-two one-hundredths of a second.

Joey Logano grabbed third place with Denny Hamlin and Chase Elliott completing the top five. Pole winner Matt Kenseth failed to lead a lap and placed fourteenth in the final running order.

The All-Star Race primarily features race winners from the previous season and included stage winners from the Monster Energy Open preliminary race – Suarez, Alex Bowman and overall winner A-J Allmendinger along with Elliott, who was the top vote getter in fan balloting. All-Star runner-up Suarez had the highest finish among that quartet.

The race included twelve lead changes among seven drivers.

There were eight cautions for seventeen laps.


Top Finishers / * Advanced to All-Star Race


1. A-J Allmendinger * (9) 2

2. Erik Jones (2) —

3. Chase Elliott * (4) 3

4. Paul Menard (5) —

5. Chris Buescher (11) —

6. Aric Almirola (Pole) 11

7. William Byron (R) (6) —

8. Ty Dillon (14) —

9. David Ragan (10) —

10. Michael McDowell (12) —


Kyle Busch finished ninth on Saturday night in his bid to win back-to-back All-Star Races, leaving Davey Allison and Jimmie Johnson the only two drivers to do so … With his victory, Kevin Harvick is the seventh driver with multiple wins in the annual non-points race. The others are Allison, Johnson, Dale Earnhardt, Jeff Gordon, Terry Labonte and Mark Martin … Harvick’s victory was an early birthday present for team owner Tony Stewart, who turned 47 on Sunday … In the five years since Johnson put consecutive victories together in 2012 and 2013, there have now been five different winners in the All-Star Race: Harvick, Busch, Jamie McMurray, Denny Hamlin and Joey Logano. McMurray finished thirteenth on Saturday, Hamlin fourth and Logano ran third.




1. Kevin Harvick 4th 36

2. Daniel Suarez 19th

3. Joey Logano 10th

4. Denny Hamlin 14th 7

5. Chase Elliott 21st

6. Jimmie Johnson 11th

7. Kyle Larson 16th 6

8. A-J Allmendinger 20th

9. Kyle Busch 7th 19

10. Kasey Kahne 17th

11. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 2nd 5

12. Austin Dillon 9th

13. Jamie McMurray 12th

14. Matt Kenseth Pole —

15. Ryan Blaney 6th

16. Ryan Newman 13th

17. Martin Truex Jr. 5th 17

18. Kurt Busch 15th

19. Clint Bowyer 3rd

20. Brad Keselowski 8th 3

21. Alex Bowman 18th

Stage 1 Winner: Kevin Harvick

Stage 2 Winner: Kyle Busch

Stage 3 Winner: Kevin Harvick

About Jim Harris

Jim Harris has been WYSH's News & Sports Director since 2000. In addition to reporting local news, he is the play-by-play voice for Clinton High School football, boys' and girls' basketball and baseball. Catch Jim live weekdays beginning at 6:20 am for live local news, sports, weather and traffic plus the Community Bulletin Board, shenanigans with Ron Meredith and more on the Country Club Morning Show on WYSH & WQLA. Jim lives in Clinton with his wife Kelly and daughter Carolina, his mother-in-law and cats Lucius and Oliver.

Check Also

Smokies hosting Food and Beverage Job Fair

(Tennessee Smokies press release) The Tennessee Smokies have announced that the club will be hosting …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *