SCS: Logano sweeps Contender Round

(MRN) Joey Logano made it a Contender Round sweep with his victory Sunday at Talladega Superspeedway. Logano was declared the winner over Dale Earnhardt Jr. when a multi-car accident occurred behind the leaders during the Green-White-Checkered finish attempt, bringing out the caution and freezing the field. Despite the second place finish and leading the most laps, Earnhardt Jr. was eliminated from the Chase for the Sprint Cup along with Denny Hamlin, Ryan Newman, and Matt Kenseth. Hamlin suffered the biggest disappointment of the race, falling from second in points to being eliminated after finishing thirty-seventh, four laps down. Kenseth, like Earnhardt Jr. needed a win to advance to the next round, but was caught up in the final wreck and finished twenty-sixth. Kevin Harvick was able to advance onto the Eliminator Round, which begins next week at Martinsville Speedway, despite having a car that struggled to get up to speed on the final restart and making contact with Trevor Bayne triggering the wreck that would end the race. Jeff Gordon kept his championship hopes alive by finishing third, as did Brad Keselowski and Carl Edwards who rounded out the top five. Kyle Busch, eleventh, and Martin Truex Jr., seventh, both were able to survive the final wreck and return finishes high enough to advance them to the Eliminator Round. Truex Jr. was able to battle back from being one lap down in a race that featured long green flag racing runs. The race saw thirty lead changes among eighteen drivers and was run with just three cautions for just eighteen laps.

Top 10 Finishers in the 500
1. Joey Logano (10) 20
2. Dale Earnhardt Jr. (5) 61
3. Jeff Gordon (1) 8
4. Brad Keselowski (11) —
5. Carl Edwards (15) —
6. Paul Menard (13) 2
7. Martin Truex Jr. (43) –
8. Clint Bowyer (29) 2
9. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (17) 2
10. Kurt Busch (14) 1

CHASE STANDINGS (After Contender round)

1. Joey Logano (Team Penske) 3,142 Points
2. Carl Edwards (Roush Fenway) 3,115 (-27)
3. Jeff Gordon (Hendrick) 3,113 (-29)
4. Kurt Busch (Stewart-Haas) 3,112 (-30)
5. Brad Keselowski (Team Penske) 3,111 (-31)
6. Martin Truex Jr. (Furniture Row) 3,107 (-35)
7. Kevin Harvick (Stewart-Haas) 3,101 (-41)
8. Kyle Busch (Joe Gibbs Racing) 3,098 (-44)
Eliminated From Title Contention
9. Ryan Newman (Richard Childress) 3,095 (-47)
10. Denny Hamlin (Joe Gibbs Racing) 3,090 (-52)
11. Dale Earnhardt Jr. (Hendrick) 3,083 (-59)
12. Matt Kenseth (Joe Gibbs Racing) 3,054 (-88)

About Jim Harris

Jim Harris has been WYSH's News & Sports Director since 2000. In addition to reporting local news, he is the play-by-play voice for Clinton High School football, boys' and girls' basketball and baseball. Catch Jim live weekdays beginning at 6:20 am for live local news, sports, weather and traffic plus the Community Bulletin Board, shenanigans with Ron Meredith and more on the Country Club Morning Show on WYSH & WQLA. Jim lives in Clinton with his wife Kelly and daughter Carolina, his mother-in-law and cats Lucius and Oliver.

Check Also

ACSD offers church safety tips, training

The Anderson County Sheriff’s Department is reminding local churches that the department’s Crime Prevention deputy, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *