Peters grabs first CWTS win of season

Timothy Peters out dueled Brandon Jones on an overtime green-white-checkered restart and was out front when the caution was thrown to score his first victory of the 2015 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series season. With the victory, Peters added his name to the Talladega Superspeedway record books by becoming the third driver in series history to win consecutive races at the speedway, joining Todd Bodine and Kyle Busch. Brandon Jones, who led the field to the green on the last restart, finished second tying his career best finish in the GMS Racing No. 33. Mason Mingus also scored a career best finish bringing his No. 15 Chevrolet home third. Erik Jones and Tyler Reddick rounded out the top-five. Jones, by virtue of finishing ahead of Reddick, stretched his series points lead to eighteen over the new second-place driver, Reddick. Matt Crafton, who was only four points back of Jones coming into the race, took a hit to his drive for a third consecutive championship when debris stuck to the grille of his Toyota Tundra raising engine temperatures. Crafton’s day got worse after running out of fuel and then getting collected in a multi-truck incident to eventually finish twenty-fourth. Brian Keselowski, Brad Keselowski’s older brother and truck owner, made his first series start and threatened to win the race until he ran out of fuel before the overtime restart. Keselowski, who led ten laps, wound up finishing seventeenth. The race was slowed six times for a total of twenty-five laps and featured fifteen lead changes among nine different drivers. Next week the Truck Series heads to Martinsville Speedway for the Kroger 200.

Top 10 Finishers in the Fred’s 250
1. Timothy Peters (1) 23
2. Brandon Jones (R) (13) 7
3. Mason Mingus (19) —
4. Erik Jones (R) (3) 6
5. Tyler Reddick (15) —
6. Cameron Hayley (R) (16) —
7. Johnny Sauter (8) —
8. Chris Fontaine (12) —
9. Chad Boat (20) —
10. Tyler Young (18) —

Unofficial Point Standings – After 19 Races
1. Erik Jones (R) 742 —-
2. Tyler Reddick 724 -18
3. Matt Crafton 719 -23
4. Johnny Sauter 687 -55
5. Timothy Peters 642 -100
6. Cameron Hayley (R) 622 -120
7. Daniel Hemric (R) 612 -230
8. John Wes Townley 594 -148
9. Ben Kennedy 565 -177
10. Spencer Gallagher (R) 559 -183

About Jim Harris

Jim Harris has been WYSH's News & Sports Director since 2000. In addition to reporting local news, he is the play-by-play voice for Clinton High School football, boys' and girls' basketball and baseball. Catch Jim live weekdays beginning at 6:20 am for live local news, sports, weather and traffic plus the Community Bulletin Board, shenanigans with Ron Meredith and more on the Country Club Morning Show on WYSH & WQLA. Jim lives in Clinton with his wife Kelly and daughter Carolina, his mother-in-law and cats Lucius and Oliver.

Check Also

ACSD offers church safety tips, training

The Anderson County Sheriff’s Department is reminding local churches that the department’s Crime Prevention deputy, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *